top of page

Social issue : Accusation of sexual harassment in Japan


A ex-soldier woman got award related to the issue of sexual harassment. Her name is Runa Gonoi. She is Japanese but she got an award in the US. This topic is getting big news now. She has been fighting against the sexual harassment from her coworkers in the Japanese deffence army for a long time. And in Japan, this kind of issue has deep roots in society.


Anywhere in the world, organizations such as the army are “male society”. In such an organization, sexual harassment has often occurred. In Japan, a big talent agency called “Johnnys” was accused of this issue last year. Not only for this company, many big Japanese companies have the same problem yet. 


To tell the truth, I have an experience where I accused my boss of this issue. I was not a victim but I knew that a female coworker had been harassed by the boss. That's why I couldn’t have looked over my boss’s harassment. Then, I accused him in our company.


For me, those were stressful days back then. I complained about him to the president of our company, but it was not clear if my boss was condemned. After that, the female victim resigned from our company, I didn’t know the reason. And, my boss got isolated completely in our company. I didn’t learn what the result was, but it seemed that this affair was resolved.


It needs bravery to accuse this kind of issue in an organization. You would have to spend stressful days in a workplace, and you may be fired by your boss unfortunately. I had been in such a situation back then. However, I think that I was not wrong. From that experience, I got bravery myself.


If you are a victim of some issues in a society, I respect you to fight against the issue, for yourself.


13 views

What kind of age is 60 years old?

I will be 60 years old this year. So this is my story. I've been thinking a lot about what it means to be 60 years old. The average life...

2 Comments


Yes, i was surprised to see so many Nepal,young and nice people,i can't stand to tell them my gratitude and exchanged some wordwith them every time every were from Shikoku to Osaka.

Like
Replying to

Thanks. You met many Nepals working in Japan. Oh yes. As you said, many foreign workers are helping us. I appreciate green.

Like

The Deep Japan

bottom of page