top of page

What kind of age is 60 years old?

I will be 60 years old this year. So this is my story. I've been thinking a lot about what it means to be 60 years old.


The average life expectancy of Japanese people is 87.09 years for women and 81.05 years for men. There are still 21 years left until I reach that age.


These days, we often hear the term “healthy life expectancy'' in Japan. What this means is that even though the current average life expectancy of Japanese people is 81 years, that does not mean that they will live to that age in good health. The average life expectancy of Japanese women, including the years they spend bedridden in hospital, is 87 years old for women and 81 years old for men.


Let's think about it. I wonder if spending the last few years of my life bedridden in a hospital bed would be a happy thing for me. You can't do anything by yourself. For example, is it really possible to live a happy life when you cannot eat or go to the bathroom on your own?


What I need to think about now is what I should do at the age of 60 to avoid having to live such a life.


First of all, you will need to train your legs and hips. Being able to move around by walking on your own feet is the most important function of all. It is also important to use your mind every day to avoid developing dementia. If you think about it that way, even if I retire and no longer work, my days might be busy.


At my workplace, I have many colleagues who started working with me as new employees when we were 22 years old. One of them has severe diabetes and can no longer walk. Another person was unfortunately diagnosed with Parkinson's disease syndrome due to genetics. Another person recently fell at work and suffered a serious injury, breaking his shoulder. Oh my god.


When I was 22 years old, I never thought that 60 years old would be like this. Now, how should I deal with my life in the 20 years I have left?


3 views

Comments


The Deep Japan

bottom of page