top of page

My thought Japan should receive more immigrants

Updated: Mar 5

In my city, when you visit some convenience stores you would notice some foreign youth are working there, so I appreciate them. I mean that we have a workforth shortage in this country.


You may be surprised to know that convenience stores are open 24 hours everyday. There are around 58,000 convenience stores in Japan. In my opinion, we don’t need such a lot of stores, but they are trying to earn money by operating stores.


The problem here is workforth shortage. We can’t operate such a huge number of convenience stores without foreign workers. So, thankfully they are working at some of such stores. In many cases they are abroad students, and they are working as part time workers.


This issue isn’t limited to convenience stores, many sectors need foreign workers, because Japan society is quite aging. Unfortunately many Japanese can’t work already due to age. I also will retire from my job soon or later.


However, the Japanese government doesn’t permit immigrants from other countries. I don’t know the reason why. 


But I’m waiting for you to come here someday. We hope you will work with us.


19 views

What kind of age is 60 years old?

I will be 60 years old this year. So this is my story. I've been thinking a lot about what it means to be 60 years old. The average life...

2 Comments


Reading your post, it reminds me that each country has its own challenge. For Japan, it's like what you said. But for my country, is almost the opposite (needless to say it's a developing country 'tho). We have some challenges, for example to provide more job opportunities and better education as the number of population are increasing.

Like
Replying to

Thank you. If you have a chance to come to Japan, please come here. I know, Indonesia has a big population and may be beyond Japan around 2050. I mean, Indonesian economy will go over Japanese economy.

Like

The Deep Japan

bottom of page