top of page

Two types of persimmons, bitter and sweet.

In the case of Japan, we have two types of persimmons. One is sweet persimmons and another one is bitter persimmons.


You would say that nobody likes bitter persimmons. However, many Japanese like this bitter type. We have the reason why.


Bitter ones have the shape like a tip of a Japanese brush for writing Japanese calligraphy. We cannot eat this, if it is still raw. Of course we don’t eat bitter persimmons. We have a way to be able to eat it. That is a way of making dried persimmons.


In this season, within the countryside, you can see the scenery where so many persimmons are hung in front of houses. They are the scenery where people are making dried persimmons.


Dried persimmons are very sweet. But it’s not sweet like chocolate. It’s unique sweet which fruits have in many cases. I didn’t like persimmons very much in my childhood, but I like them now. The reason why may be because I aged.


Last week, my wife hung the peeled persimmons on the balcony of our house. When one week passes, those persimmons are able to be eaten step by step. I like it.





6 views

Bitter memory of my youth in Kyoto

That spring tasted a bit bitter for me. Back then I was in Kyoto, and in April I was trying to enter a University. I was just starting to...

댓글


The Deep Japan

bottom of page