top of page

This chef is a person I respect and love



There is an Italian restaurant near my house run by one chef, who is about the same generation as me. The pasta here is my favorite.


Of course, the pasta here is by no means microwave-cooked. As you probably know, there are a lot of foods in Japan that can be cooked in a microwave. If you come to Japan, please check it out at a convenience store or supermarket. In addition to pasta, we also have fried noodles, pilaf, fried rice, ramen, and even frozen bento boxes. These are relatively well-made products, but I don't really like them.


Well, the owner of the Italian restaurant is very particular about his cooking. It's even moving.


One day, I visited this restaurant with my wife. Then we ordered “Karasumi Peperoncino.''


Do you know Karasumi? If you are Taiwanese, you probably know Karasumi. This is salted and dried roe from a fish called mullet. This is very tasty and expensive.


The owner of this restaurant actually made the mullet roe himself to make the “Karasumi peperoncino.'' So he got an egg from a mullet somewhere, salted it, then dried it, and made mullet roe. After weeks of preparation, on the day I visited the restaurant, he used the mullet roe to make pasta.


amazing!


What's more, he doesn't charge a high price for the pasta dishes he takes so much time and effort to make. The price is such that anyone in Japan can easily eat it.


This chef is a person I respect and love.


4 views

Comentarios


The Deep Japan

bottom of page